Dietary Guidelines For Healthy Eating Patterns

dietary guidelines

The Dietary Guidelines for Americans gives healthy, balanced food information to all Americans, regardless of whether they are currently at risk for chronic illness or if they are healthy. The information is broken down into six major categories that are based on your level of risk. If you fall into one of the six categories, you will be advised by the doctor and/or nutritionist to alter your diet to help keep you at that healthy level. It is important to note that the types of foods or groups of foods that fall into one of the six categories may be low in calorie and fat but high in fiber.

Divide The Food Into Six Groups

A close up of a computer

In the United States the Department of Agriculture (USDA) divides foods into six groups. They are described as “The Average Merchant”, “The Healthy Food Guide”, “The Middle Class Food Guide”, “The Vegetarian Food Guide”, “The Diamond Grade” and “The Healthier Skin” and last is the “Pharmaceuticals”. The dietary guidelines for Americans also include the “Fruits” category. All six of these categories are further divided into “eat in moderation” and” moderation”. This information is provided for you to help you make food choices that will support your weight loss, prevent chronic disease and improve your public health.

The dietary guidelines for Americans, like the dietary guidelines for other countries, emphasize eating foods that are low in fat and calories, particularly saturated fats. It is also recommended that Americans get more physical activity and it is encouraged that they select some kind of physical activity as their major form of exercise. As it turns out, the people of the United States, as a whole, are very physically active. The people of the United States, in particular, live longer than people in any other country in the world.

In addition to this, the dietary guidelines for Americans advise against the addition of trans fats, high-fat dairy products, partially hydrogenated vegetable oils, trans fats, foods fried in animal fat or processed foods with added sugars. The primary source of these trans fats was cattle, followed by poultry. The added sugars were extracted from fruits and vegetables. It seems that these guidelines have changed in the past few years.

Some of these dietary components are beneficial and others are not. For example, foods rich in antioxidants may be beneficial, but only if consumed in moderation. Foods containing a lot of refined sugars should be avoided, but again, only if consumed in moderation. This suggests that people should eat less dairy products, particularly milk, and more foods that are rich in dietary fiber, like vegetables.

This dietary recommendation is a part of the comprehensive health promotion plan of the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). The objective of the HPH is to promote healthy diets and lifestyles through the use of a system of primary prevention measures and secondary prevention measures. The primary preventive measure is the identification and assessment of risk factors. Secondary preventive measures include the use of recommended activities and measures and the implementation of modifications in life-style and diet. A health promotion program is integrated into the primary and secondary risk reduction strategies.

Last Words

A bowl of food on a plate next to a cup of coffee

Nutrition is an important topic for many persons and it is not possible for them to make informed decisions without professional help. A variety of organizations provide information and support to assist persons in making dietary recommendations found in this article. These organizations include the American Heart Association, the American College of Sports Medicine, the National Strength and Conditioning Association, the National Athletic Trainers Association, the National Weight Management Association, the American Academy of Pediatrics, the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, the American College of Preventive Medicine, the American Heart Association, the American College of Surgeons, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Public Health, the National Institute on Mental Health, the Center for Chronic Disease Prevention, the National Institute on Therapeutic Medicine, and the Agency for Healthcare Administration. These organizations also provide support for individuals who need help in their efforts to change unhealthy lifestyle choices. For additional information and to receive a listing of those organizations that help in the development of dietary guidelines for healthy eating patterns, contact your local office of the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter